IVF Round 2 – In Progress

Fellow bloggers, I just wanted to say even though I am new to blogging I am really enjoying getting to read everyone’s stories and reading all the advice and love I receive in comments to my posts.  We each have our own stories and we all come from different places, but our desires are the same.  I’ve been humbled by some of the stories I’ve read, and I just wanted to say I am sending positive energy to all you beautiful ladies.  I am hooping we will all have our happy ending when the universe decides the time is right ❤

So…..onto today’s post!  IVF Cycle #2 – In Progress.  That’s what I see on my paperwork when I initial before getting my blood drawn.  Seeing it written down makes it so real.  I’m actually doing this.  I’m actually in the middle of it.  For some reason, it’s still surreal to me.  So after being put on birth control pills for two weeks I went in for blood work and an ultrasound last Wednesday.  Blood work looked good, and the ultrasound revealed 10 follicles, which was three more that I had last cycle.  I started taking stims that night.  I am on the same protocol as last cycle, with the exception that I took BCP’s for two weeks prior to starting this cycle.  My RE says this should help all the follicles grow at the same rate (hopefully).  Yesterday I went in for my first morning monitoring since starting this cycle and the doctor only saw 8 follicles, all still small.  I had some spotting since getting off BCP’s, so this may be why.  I was discouraged that there were only 8 follicles though, when last Wednesday he saw 10.  Blood work came back ok, estrogen is rising so I am due back this Wednesday for more morning monitoring.

This cycle I also decided to get back on the acupuncture train.  I tried it for about a month earlier this year, but it was right around the time I went in for my second consult with my RE and it really started to sink in that I had fertility problems.  I got discouraged and never went back.  This cycle I thought hey it can’t hurt and it may even help.  I met with a different acupuncturist who also happened to be an MD so I felt she could understood both sides of my treatment.  She did tell me it can take three months or more to see results in acupuncture, which is consistent to what I have read online.  I am not expecting miracles, but I have felt less stressed since starting her treatments.  Fertility treatments can be so draining, a little relaxation certainly can’t hurt!

So that’s where I’m at.  I need to ask you ladies – do you have any tips on how in the world to maintain a positive attitude???  I struggle with this so much!  For example, I was feeling positive when I went I started my cycle last Wednesday and they saw 10 follicles.  I was also feeling positive with the acupuncture treatments and feeling very relaxed.  But after going in yesterday and seeing two fewer follicles, all still small, I immediately got discouraged.  Later in the day, my nurse called and said my estrogen was rising, but not as much as they would like.  Another blow.  Just like that, the positivity was gone.  I know it affects M too, as he is a very positive person and always trying to look on the bright side.  He hates to see me get mopey and sad.  It’s just so difficult to remain hopeful, and when I am hopeful and then do not get the results I am hoping for, it’s just that much more disappointing.  I welcome any and all advice on this matter!

I am trying though.  Although the doctor’s appointment and blood work results were not the best, I still rallied and took a drive with M to the beach.  It was beautiful!  We ate lunch by the water and then took a walk on the beach and even laid out for a while. We treated ourselves to ice cream on the boardwalk before heading home.  It turned into a pretty good day.  I guess that is what I have to hold on to when I get disappointing news.  Even when I receive bad news, it is my choice whether I want to go home and pull the covers over my head, or if I want to go to the shore and walk in the sand and dip my feet in the ocean.  Yesterday I made what felt like the right choice for myself (see picture).  Tomorrow….we shall see 🙂

P.S.–on an unrelated note, when I was sitting in the waiting room at the doctor’s office yesterday a lady walked in that I went to high school with.  We attended an extremely large high school so I didn’t remember her name, but it was definitely her.  I am just beginning to learn this but it just goes to show that sometimes the infertility community is much larger than we think.

13 thoughts on “IVF Round 2 – In Progress

  1. It’s definitely hard to keep a positive attitude. DH has a chromosome abnormality which we think is why he has low sperm count. I think about it constantly, about how our story will turn out. Blogging really helps me stay positive. Reading other peoples success and struggles really puts things in perspective. When you put out positive energy, it will always come back to you 10 fold! Good luck with this cycle!! xo

    Like

    • scrambledeggsandsundry says:

      Blogging is helping me a well! I feel like I can be positive for everyone else, but when it comes to myself it’s so hard. So sorry to hear about the challenges you and your husband are facing. Good luck to you as well!

      Like

  2. I tried to do visualization meditations. It helps to picture everything in your body working successfully to create and maintain a pregnancy. I also wrote positive affirmations in my journal like: My hormones are balanced, My follicles are growing with mature eggs inside them, etc. The more specific you get the better. For example: You could even say I have 8 follicles growing with 8 mature eggs inside them. It doesn’t erase all of the anxiety but I found it helped me to stay focused on positive things to come.

    Like

      • scrambledeggsandsundry says:

        Thanks for the advice! I am going to try the visualization and writing things down. I did a sort of bucket list where I wrote down things I wanted to accomplish and put them in a little jar. They were just general things though, no specifics. Taking things one day at a time is helpful too. Life can get a bit overwhelming as you well know. Thanks again. Praying for you and waiting for your next update 🙂

        Like

  3. It is so hard to stay positive. Some days are easier than others. I have found that meditation and music really help. It also really helps to have a good support system. I have a few friends that I can vent to when thing are not working and celebrate the things that go right.

    Like

    • scrambledeggsandsundry says:

      Thanks, I am glad to see I am not the only person who feels this way. I guess I just do not want to be disappointed. Celebrating the little things is also great advice, and a good reminder that it is not all bad.

      Like

  4. You are so right! The choice is up to you – I’m glad you made the choice to remain positive. I agree, we never know how many people this effects are who is going through infertility. After my airport angel video went live on facebook, i had people contact me, saying ‘i too went through that and we did ivf, etc’ I would have NEVER known otherwise!!!

    Like

    • scrambledeggsandsundry says:

      I know, it’s so strange that so many people go through infertility, but so few people want to talk about it. In the world we live in where nearly everything is made public, for some reason infertility is still taboo.

      Like

  5. CJ says:

    Oh boy! No advice on how to stay positive. It’s hard to not let things crash every time there is a blip. Breathe, of course. Go for a walk, one of my favorites. Know that retrieval time will be the only time anything is really accurate.

    Like

Leave a Reply

