2016 we are breaking up….

images-2

Don’t get me wrong, I have to admit 2016 was a pretty awesome year.  I got to plan the wedding I never knew I always wanted, I married my soul mate, and we bought a cute little house that we are now making our home.  M and I got to enjoy just being a regular couple.  However, 2016 has become like this comfortable relationship that I just dread leaving, but I know I must move on!

I feel like this year was the calm AFTER the storm.  We had so much heartache in 2014 and 2015 with our infertility, 2016 was like this peaceful oasis.  So now that it is at a close, it’s making me a little nervous.  We still have our one little embryo frozen since 2015.  We really need to settle on a time to schedule the transfer, but I have been dragging my feet.  I’ve said it before, but this is our last chance to have a biological child and right now that tiny sliver of hope is still alive.  Once we complete the transfer it will become REAL.  And all hope will be gained or lost.  Now I also have to reiterate I don’t care about biology.  My own relationship with my biological family is pretty strained with most members, so it’s not important to me.  It’s just that if this doesn’t work, we will be starting again at square one, and that’s what is scary.  It’s just like making the decision to end a relationship or stay with it – it may not be the best but it’s comfortable and starting all over is such a PAIN!!

With all of this one thing is still sure – I still want to be a mom.  Probably even more than that, lately I really want M to be a dad!  He is so patient, mindful, and just a big kid himself!  I would love for him to have the chance at being a parent.  So we will not give up, and we will have to bite the bullet and transfer sometime soon.  Now we just have to figure out when….

2016 has also been a big year of growth and learning new things.  The two years prior were so filled with infertility related goings-on that there was not much time left for anything else.  This year I finally went back to school by taking a few classes, I got much more into cooking and recipe rehabbing, I learned I liked to decorate and have been doing so in my new house, and most recently – and this is supper exciting – I have started learning about and purchasing essential oils!  I have used essential oils sporadically for the past few years, mainly just for yoga purposes or to get to sleep.  A few weeks ago I took the plunge and bought a whole starter kit from Young Living Essential Oils.  Well I have been obsessed ever since!  I am still a newborn and have only used a couple oils so far, but I will be writing about my experiences soon!  (side note:  if anyone has any experiences or suggestions in this area I would love to hear them)

I have also attempted to reorganize my blog, although that has been less than successful.  I am trying to venture into other topics other than fertility, but it’s been a bit challenging to convey that.  I would essentially like to have a static front page and then just categories readers can click to see blogs related to infertility, fitness, cooking, etc.  It’s getting there but I have a long way to go.  If anyone has any tips for creating a better blog please let me know!!  I am open to all suggestions!

So 2016….it’s been real!  Real emotional, real stressful, real fun, real enlightening, real AMAZING.  It’s sad to let you go, but bigger things await 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “2016 we are breaking up….

  1. The EcoFeminist says:

    Question for you: have you or are you planning to do ERA biopsy before your transfer? After learning at his way the hell too late in the game and now preparing for our ERA and subsequent final attempt, I’m asking everyone in Blogland, as she you learn that 25% of transfers happen on the wrong day, and that the endometrial receptivity array can determine when you are receptive, you want to shout it to everyone so they know about it as well. I just found out it’s covered by BCBS insurance, the only diagnostic thing that is covered (our insurance doesn’t cover squat otherwise).

    Best wishes for your final FET!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

